My garden, my back and me

Glorious rain on Friday afternoon, 20mm to be exact, left the garden damp and easy to work yesterday.  It was rather hot in the latter part of the morning but I kept to the shady spots to plant plugs of lawn.  I have various lawns now in the garden .. the strongest and fittest will survive !!  Not the best way to have a lawn but over the years, and many of them, shady areas change,  leaving the original kikuyu a bit sparse in places.  The recent drought conditions has made it worse.  And I might add here that hubby and I spent weekend after weekend (I worked in those days) rolling, weeding, aerating, fertilizing and watering kikuyu runners until we had a lush, thick, green lawn.

Midday yesterday .. not the best time to take a photograph :-

copy-of-img_9293

‘Shade Over’  lawn is thin and wispy and has to be planted thickly, I have discovered – I scatter seeds en masse.   It needs a different height on the mower and in winter it dies down, not completely, and pops up again in summer. I have found it’s not totally ideal in my situation.  But it’s there.   I have also planted plugs of  ‘All Seasons’ as well as scatter seeds en masse.   There is a problem with scattering seeds .. .. .. .. birds! Quite a bit has grown in patches.   I seem to recall that I’ve also tried ‘Evergreen’ seeds !   Only the strongest and fittest of seeds survive !!  As a result it’s a little patchy but my goal is to have a decent lawn at the top part of the garden!! Grandsons who play soccer, cricket and the odd game of tennis, are not kind to lawns and they use the length from the top section and down the slope to the house.  Kikuyu is the best but not for the shady top section.

copy-of-img_9288

So … my mission ..  since the rains have come, and praying they continue .. is to get the top lawn growing well before the onset of winter, when the dormant lawn once again gets a hammering under soccer, cricket and tennis feet/tackies/sports shoes.

Getting to the point of this post .. with the ground being damp earlier, yesterday I finished planting 150 plugs of lawn .. this time ‘LM’ Berea, which apparently is indigenous, creeping and suitable for sun and shade.  Perfect!  Survival of the fittest !!  We’ll see about that.

copy-of-img_9108

But ..  my back is taking strain 😦   For about two years I have had issues with my piriformis and hips, and now it’s my lower back.   I love, love, love gardening, having planted every single plant, tree, shrub in the 37 years we’ve been in this house.  You name it, I’ve done it !  From laying paving to planting delicate seedlings, heaving rocks, cutting branches thick or thin, trimming, replacing dead plants with new ones, etc .. etc ..

Several gardeners have come and gone over the years.  Young Michael was a star.  He hadn’t been out of school long and was keen to learn.  He knew nothing about gardening so I taught him.  Too well, I might add, as he eventually started his own garden service !!!!!   Samuel took his place and who is now our current gardener,  but he now has a kidney complaint and is awaiting further medical treatment.  He is therefore on ‘light duties’ and being that as it may, still tires quickly.  I am therefore left to do more.  I prefer doing a lot myself anyway as I know what I have in mind and because, as I said, I love gardening.  It gives me pleasure.  It’s my space.  It’s my sanctuary.  But …

…my lower back is retaliating !   A year ago hip xrays showed signs of arthritis in the sacrum joint and spinal column.  Just a touch, mind you, but it was there.  I think it’s worsened  😦 .  My core is pretty strong, but I’m finding yoga not as easy as it was.  I’ve done yoga for many years and always found I can do postures with ease.  I am flexible, or should I say, I was flexible until recently.   I used to be able to ‘go within’ and just ‘do’.  Now I have to think about it!  It’s not easy.  It’s depressing.  I know it’s also an age thing, but I didn’t expect age to come into the picture yet.   I will be turning 64 next month.   I am not giving up my gardening or my yoga and I am not reducing the number of classes I go to.  I love my yoga.  Sounds odd at this point as I am now saying I don’t find it easy, but I benefit by it, internally.  It clears my mind .. I am one .. I am in my space on the mat.

My physio suggested a year ago that I have a cortisone injection into the lower back. Ummmm ..  not so sure about that, as I’ve heard it needs repeating twice a year.  I do stretches every morning as I wake …. every morning !  I get tired of doing them 😦   Maybe a few sessions of physio is what is needed for now.

2017-01-091

Over the Christmas period I didn’t attend any gym classes, only walked the dog with hubby daily.  Walking is good.  It helps.  Getting back to the regular gym classes has been tough!!   I am soooo stiff!!

Take it easy.  Take it slowly.   This age thing isn’t funny!!

Well, that got that issue off my chest 🙂 🙂 🙂   Happy thoughts … … …

copy-of-img_9284

 

 

About momsmeanderings

Wife ... mom ... granny .. in a nutshell ! Never a dull moment !
This entry was posted in garden, me, yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

