Leaving you with lavender

Hubby and I are going away for a short break to Ramsgate on the Kwa Zulu Natal South Coast, staying with my cousin, where sea breezes refresh the soul

Copy of IMG_5384

It hasn’t been the best of years so far .. some ups, some downs .. happy times, sad times .. but that’s the way life goes

Copy of IMG_5386

A fabulous family reunion with my cousins has been the highlight, and a gorgeous family wedding in Midlands.  All three grandchildren have excelled at school 🙂  Elaine’s best friend from school days gave birth to the sweetest little baby girl.   At long last my piriformis/hips/sciatica/lower back is improving with specific exercises for offending muscles thanks to recent visits to another biokineticist.  Strengthening those muscles is taking time, but that’s fine by me

Copy of IMG_5389

Losing our little Max at the tender age of 9 months, in January, hit us hard and for the first time in all too many years that I can remember, we have been without a pet.  But, yay !! that’s going to change soon.  We are getting a new puppy on our return from Ramsgate 🙂

My precious and beloved Mum passed away on 10th March.  I miss her so much 😦

Copy of IMG_5393

And then my hubby had a malignant melanoma removed which needed further surgery to make sure all the cancer was removed including 5 lymph nodes.   Everyone is touched by cancer, whether a friend, a friend of a friend, a close relation, but you never expect it to touch your life-time partner and spouse.  When it does, you have to deal with it.  I must admit I’ve had a few ‘wobblies’, but the thought of going backwards to those dark days of depression and anxiety I experienced 6 years ago, (subject of which I’d blogged about often at the time) I managed to ward off that nasty ‘alien’ I used to call it.  All our prayers were answered when, after blood tests and a PET scan, all came back negative.   The chances of a malignant melanoma returning is quite high (50%) which is scary, but hubby’s oncology doctor .. now he is in the oncology ‘system’ … assures us that when one returns, no matter where in body, it will be cut out.  Detection is vital with regular 3 monthly blood tests and annual PET scan.

And so, that’s what he’ll be doing from now onwards.

And we’ll stay positive.

Copy of IMG_5398

p.s.  hubby and I were supposed to leave early tomorrow morning to Ramsgate but hubby has discovered a nail in the car’s tyre 😦  Popping into the tyre repair place is essential first thing tomorrow, which also gives me a chance to phone and collect a prescription from the prosthodontist who I saw for root canal treatment on Monday, but am now experiencing pain and inflammation, all before the follow-up next Mon.  The down-side to this is that he may repeat the antibiotics I was one previously, which means ‘ no alcohol must pass the lips ‘  (makes one rather ill, he said)   And that means no wine while chilling in Ramsgate!!!!  Withdrawal symptoms will set in !!

..

About momsmeanderings

Wife ... mom ... granny .. in a nutshell ! Never a dull moment !
This entry was posted in flowers, garden, home, Kwa Zulu Natal, P and me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leaving you with lavender

  1. catjuggles says:

    Such beautiful photos! We have just returned from Sanlameer and it has been great – such a lovely time of the year at the South Coast – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

