Frangipani (Plumeria)

I love these flowers from the frangipani tree.  Their perfume takes me back to my childhood in Rhodesia … blissful carefree days.   Most gardens had at least one.  I haven’t seen any here as I would think our winters are far too frosty and cold.

I was delighted to see one tree in full bloom at Umngazi River Bungalows and Spa and had to, naturally, pick a handful of heavenly scented flowers for our bungalow …

Copy of IMG_3252

Copy of IMG_3256

About momsmeanderings

Wife ... mom ... granny .. in a nutshell ! Never a dull moment !
This entry was posted in flowers, plants, South Africa, Transkei, travel, trees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Frangipani (Plumeria)

  1. Mrs FF says:

    Thank you!! I finally know what they are called!!! We call it “daddy’s flower” because my 2 year old always picks them when we go walking around the neighborhood and proudly proclaims “daddy’s fower” 🙂 :).

    This is actually the first year I’ve seen them around, wondering if the very hot summer had anything to do with them blooming

  2. I agree with you, this flower is my favorite too, The smell of this flower is really fantastic.
    Thank you for sharing this beautiful post.
    Best regards,
    Lily’s Florist Singleton Lily’s Florist Singleton

  3. mithriluna says:

    I love plumeria and their beautiful fragrance. Lovely pictures.

Leave a Reply

