I’ve taught them well …

.. my grandsons, that is 😉

I had to smile yesterday when I saw an apple core in the bird feeder .. put there by Connor the previous day 🙂  Every afternoon the Bradley and Connor play soccer in the garden.  It’s really awesome that they play sport at school, know the rules (somewhat, in Connor’s case) and can adapt the games to a small space like my garden.  The fear of breaking windows is huge!!!    They have free reign in my pantry and fridge too (to a point 😉 ) with Connor often helping himself to an apple .. as he did on Friday munching it while played soccer.

Instead of throwing the apple core in the bin, which I think is such a waste as the birds need it more than the garbage dump does, (and he knows how I feel) he put it in the bird feeder  ..

Copy of IMG_2552

I have looked after Bradley on a daily basis, since the age of 4 months when Jeanette went back to work after maternity leave.    Baby and child care includes singing, playing, reading and keeping a baby and child stimulated (when awake).   One of the things I taught Bradley was the names of all the birds that come visiting to my garden.  He knew them all.  He even got to know some of their calls.   Jeanette dropped him off early in the morning so I gave him breakfast.  After breakfast, I would take him outside to feed the birds.  We did this every day and we often sat on the garden bench watching them.  When he went to nursery school the teacher was amazed that he knew all the names of all the birds in the school’s garden!

 I need a bird pic here 😉   …..   Red billed hoopoes with their backs to the yesterday’s weak morning sun when I was scooting around the garden taking pics of the heavy frost and frozen bird bath, yet again (two days in a row)

Copy of IMG_2560

It’s wonderful being a Granny and knowing that I’ve played a part in their young lives

Collages95

About momsmeanderings

Wife ... mom ... granny .. in a nutshell ! Never a dull moment !
This entry was posted in birds, Bradley, Connor, family, grandchildren, Grandparents, home, memory lane, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve taught them well …

  1. If this was Facebook I would click on “LIKE” right now

  2. Mrs FF says:

    Thank heavens for wonderful grandmoms.

  3. Jeanette says:

    You’ve played an enormous part in their lives, and they love you so very much!

Leave a Reply

