Travel reminiscences from : London

To be exact …  my very first trip overseas !!!!  .. in 2008!  Yay!!  Finally!!  My very first trip out of Africa!!    At the ripe-old-age of 55!

I come from an English background.  I was born and grew up in Rhodesia.  I learnt English/European history at school.  I couldn’t wait to set foot in England and see all the historic places I had read about, seen in photos, movies, etc.   This particular trip included time in London and time in the country, using Bath as our base.  London and the English countryside was top on my agenda for my first trip overseas

Whoo hoo .. London – a dream come true!!

Copy of P1010007

 

My first thrill .. on the ground!!    … a ride in a London taxi from Paddington Station to our hotel  🙂  🙂  🙂

Copy of P1010011_In taxi to hotel

 

Copy of P1010075

???

10 Downing Street was very big in the news when I was growing up, especially in the 1960’s when Rhodesia declared UDI (1965).  We had to see it …

Copy of P1010069_10 Downing StreetCopy of P1010129_view from the Stone Gallery..

Collages85 Collages86 Collages87 Collages88 Collages89

Collages90 Collages91 Collages78 Collages79 Collages80

Collages82

Collages83

Collages84

Collages77

Collages81

Collages92

What a way to bring back happy memories of a wonderful holiday!!!!   Hubby and I travelled to London again the following year en route to Ireland and went to places we hadn’t seen this time.

….

About momsmeanderings

Wife ... mom ... granny .. in a nutshell ! Never a dull moment !
This entry was posted in London, memory lane, travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travel reminiscences from : London

  1. I love this post! Great way to show off all the highlights of a holiday. I got to go overseas for the first time in 2008 as well and got to visit London and Germany. I spent 5 days in London, 4 of these at WTM (a tourism show) and only one morning of sightseeing so I got to see a few places but not nearly as many as you did. Most of them I see walking at pace.

Leave a Reply

