Apparently I kick arse …

5e1c8e4dccf336aecc40b385deb779a0[1]

Firstly … I don’t swear, or use slang !!  … so typing that ‘a’ word above is therefore not in my vocabulary, but I have repeated the title of the meme which Jeanette has challenged me with …. a meme which she received from Laura from HarassedMom

Quite a challenge actually as I don’t see myself kicking ‘a …e’ .. I am me, just plain ol’ me  .. but here goes ..

What are you working on right now?    A few things but nothing in particular ..  with Christmas looming, decorations are up, prezzies are bought .. still to do : Christmas baking (I like to do mince pies and shortbread just before the day so they’re fresh) ; follow my list a day or so before the day for foodstuffs (I pin the list to the following year’s calendar so I don’t have to think!).   Gardening is on-going … I love my garden .. it’s my space, my sanctuary.   Techie stuff .. finishing off our trip to Cape Town then will go back to our tour of Italy which I still want to share 😉  we saw and experienced amazing places

Where did the idea for Momsmeanderings blog come from?   Jeanette : whenever she collected the littlies .. and Bradley and Connor were littlies in those days … I would usually have something to tell her, either about my goings-on or the neighbours, or whatever.  Jeanette suggested I start a blog which I though was crazy as who on earth would want to know anything about me and my life, which is so very normal, but it would also be a way of sharing my love of taking photographs.  I am by no means a ‘photographer’  but I love to capture what I see and the beauty that is in this world, and always have done ever since hubby and I have been married, sharing our adventures (if you could call it that) and every day life on prints with our parents, who lived in Zimbabwe.

I was sure no-one would be in the least bit interested in what I had to say, but since then – that was in 2008 – I now have 139 followers !!!!

What does your typical day look like?   Well … it’s school holidays at the moment and Jeanette is at home with the boys but my typical day would be when she’s at work and the boys are at school.  Here goes … alarm (yes, we still have an alarm even though hubby is retired!) that goes off at 6.00     …. into kitchen with washing basket in hand, shake dogs bed outside come rain come shine, put away pots/dishes etc that can’t be dishwashed, make tea, squeeze oranges for juice/or slice fruit into bowl, give dog ‘tea’, handful of pellets and 3 dog biscuits, put washing on    … take tea tray to bedroom (yes .. on a tray with pretty tray cloth ie teapot, teacosy, cups and saucers, sugar bowl and milk jug!!!!), have tea in bed.  I have a domestic helper, Sina, who comes in three times a week for half day and has done for the past 36 years !

…  wash .. dress, usually in gym wear ie Monday – yoga, Wednesday – pilates, Thursday – pilates, Friday – keep-fit class, Tuesday is my ‘day off’ and usually hubby and I pop out for morning coffee      … shopping after gym, a quiet cappuccino, love wandering around homeware/décor shops (I never had the time when children were growing up) … bring shopping home so hubby can make his own lunch    … back in car to fetch boys from school, first Connor, then Bradley (their timing isn’t the same yet), either come back home, or stay for any extra murals.  That saying, if there is any, I pack a picnic bag of healthy snacks/juices for their lunch .. watch activities     … come home .. homework – sit with Connor, Bradley does his on his own.   No activities days  .. bring boys home .. make healthy snacks for their lunch … I eat whatever, whenever .. usually at 3.00!    homework as above … if boredom sets in play ball/board games or watch them swim   …boys are collected  5.30-6.00 by either mom or dad      … stroll around/potter in garden if time permits  … back in kitchen .. prepare dinner .. wine in hand !!   …. dinner around 7.30   … clear table (we sit at the diningroom table every night), pack dishwasher/wash up non-dishwasher stuff … watch some TV-not much    …. check computer for emails etc, do some blogging or add to any unfinished blog – usually the case … then bed !!!

How do you bring ideas to life?     I do it!   Simple!  … those beyond our financial constraints either have to wait awhile or put into a ‘keep dreaming’  box

What’s one trend that really excites you?     I don’t generally follow trends – I obviously lead a dull life !!

What was the worst job you ever had and what did you learn from it? Wowee .. that goes back donkey’s years!!   My first job was as a temp shorthand/copy typist in Salisbury (Harare)  working in different Government departments – some interesting, some dead boring.  One being in a typing pool where we, all the shorthand/copy typists, sat in rows like at school with the supervisor in front looking our way, like the teacher.  She, doing her nails, and whatever else she did at her desk, of which I have no idea, or cannot remember,  and kept us in tow!!  We weren’t allowed to talk to each other, had to sit upright and correct .. had a tea break and lunch break – big clock on wall – not a minute early and not a minute late!!!

If you were to start again, what would you do differently?  I would not have had children early in our marriage.  I would have loved to have travelled and seen the world and not started my travelling days with my first trip overseas at the ripe old age of 55 !!!

If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be and how would you go about it?    I wish the Ozone layer in the atmosphere wasn’t depleting at the rate that it is.

Tell us a secret.    Ummm … tricky … I don’t have one!!   Well one actually .. I am an Elf for one member of our family for Secret Santa.  We decided to try it this year – it’s been great fun and so easy buying prezzies.   Buying prezzies for kiddies as usual but only for one adult.  Well .. actually two ‘cos I’m sure male Elves don’t do the buying.  Easy peasy!

What are your three favorite online tools or resources and what do you love about them?     Well this is easy .. I have not a single online tool as I wouldn’t know what to do with it or how to retrieve it  😉

What is the one book that you recommend people should read and why?     This is also easy .. I am afraid to say, I don’t have time to read lately.  I only read on long flights and on beach holidays.  As we haven’t had one of those for a few years now, I haven’t read a book.  Shocking, I know !!

Three people we should follow on Twitter and why?    Another easy one … I am not a Tweeter .. or Twitter .. or whatever it’s called 😉

When was the last time you laughed out loud? What caused it?    Connor usually makes me smile, giggle and laugh out loud.  He is such a cuddlesome 6 year old, always smiling, always chatty, always has something funny to say or do, and I am often laughing at and with him.  But the last time I laughed out loud was with my sister-in-law the other day.  We were having coffee at a local shopping centre and discussing her family, amongst other things.  Her sister is writing a book, a murder mystery novel – quite a challenge!!!  Their family is a large Italian family with very interesting characters, with typically Italian temperaments.  I suggested that her sister should forget about her murder-mystery novel and instead do an Italian family saga based on their family of so many different characters. She could add in a murder scene and other scenes of skulduggery and intrigue !!   We laughed and laughed imagining her family coming to life in pages of a book … a trilogy … a movie  !!!   The Italian Connection  !! It was good to laugh with her .. she definitely needed a good laugh.

Who is your hero?    I would say my hubby.   Having married, had children and left our home country when we were still spring chickens, we went through thick and thin, together, on our own.  We could never have done that if he hadn’t been a pillar of strength       …  my children are my heroes too, for what all three of them have achieved … their determination and drive to succeed in their careers and their lives and their happiness.   They are strong and committed to whatever it is they put their minds to.   Love you all with all my heart and soul xxxx

Bloggers who you would like to take part?    Tricky one … I am ashamed to say I haven’t had time to read many other blogs, except Jeanette’s.  Time isn’t on my side like it used to be .. hence I cannot in all fairness nominate a blogger 😦

….

About momsmeanderings

Wife ... mom ... granny .. in a nutshell ! Never a dull moment !
This entry was posted in me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apparently I kick arse …

  1. jenty says:

    Glad you did it mom 🙂
    That typing pool sounds like hell!

Leave a Reply

