A little bit of comfort goes a long way

Two and half weeks to go before hubby and I travel to Italy !!!    Yay !!

IMG_3977

I’m getting excited!!   I must say, though, it’s been difficult to focus on our trip with Elaine and Bryan’s wedding plans always on my mind.  October will be here before we know it!!!   She is super organized but there are things I have to do .. and things I don’t have to do !!   When we return from our trip, I shall be busy … very busy !!!!  No time to blog on a regular basis, I don’t think, but I shall try and share our Italian experience as best I can .. in between sewing and doing my bit !!

But .. I have been spending time lately Googling Italy !!   Cities, buildings of historical interest, hotels we will be staying in, cathedrals and more.  I have been asking friends and family, who have been, what were their favourite places, cities, buildings ‘and more’ !  I have been using Google Earth to see where we are going .. on street level !!

I am excited !!

P1070934

P1070942

IMG_4365

It may be the last time we will be travelling business class sadly, as hubby …   now retired …  doesn’t accumulate Voyager Miles as in the past 😦  I LOVE travelling business class!!!  Although the first time round, I felt like a country bumpkin!!!  Little ol’ me .. turning left as I board, being served champagne before take-off, a menu with tasty choices, a spacious seat that goes up and down and every which-way, including flat .. complete with duvet and pillow!

IMG_4356

IMG_8098

Image0294

Blog stuff7

P1070939

Blog stuff9

Dinner and breakfast served with a smile!   Starched placemats and napkins, and real cutlery !!!  Bottles of water, magazines and newspapers are at the stewards station where we help ourselves .. even in the dead of night when others are snoozing, snoring softly, some covered from head to toe

P1070943

Blog stuff6

Blog stuff8

Having access to business class lounges is really special !!   Food and drinks are free!!  .. and it’s quiet and comfy.   No frequent flying travel (hubby now being retired for a year) = no access anymore 😦  really sad face here !!  We now have to join fellow travellers

Collages61 Collages60 Collages59 Collages57

But I don’t mind … really!   As long as we are travelling somewhere new and exciting !!!

IMG_8099

Sooo … yay … in two and half weeks, we’ll be jetting off to Rome!!!   Three days in Rome first on our own, then board our Trafalgar Tour bus to Sorrento (2 nights), Assisi (1 night), Venice (2 nights), Lake Maggiore (2 nights), Florence (2 nights), and back to Rome (1 night) before catching our flight home 🙂   Can’t wait !!

About momsmeanderings

Wife ... mom ... granny .. in a nutshell ! Never a dull moment !
This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little bit of comfort goes a long way

  1. I’m with you on the airline seating!! Looking forward to returning to Italy soon. Off to London in September, then Thailand in February 2014. Have a great trip!

  2. I can’t believe this trip has sneaked up so quickly. Awesomeness. I can’t wait for you to get back and take us all on the trip with you via the blog.

    I have never flown business class and if ever I had to choose to start it would be on an international flight.

Leave a Reply

