I turned 60 !!!

I still can’t believe that I have reached this great age in my life .. but there it is .. I am now SIXTY!!!    This is the reason for my lack of blogging .. I have been a busy bee 🙂   I am going to share my amazing week, backwards 🙂   !!!   Why not ?   I can do anything now and put it down to ageing … a senior moment !!

On my actual birthday (on the 7th) .. working backwards 🙂  hubby and I went to Cesco’s for prawns.  Cesco’s is a Portuguese restaurant and pub nestled in a small industrial area (!)   It’s been there for many years but we’ve only been there once before, dining on superb peri-peri chicken .. yumm!   It’s a typical pub with nothing-spectacular-dining facilities, but the food is very very good!

Prawns at Cesco’s and a beautiful bouquet of flowers from hubby … Copy of collages 25

http://www.wininganddining.co.za/gauteng/johannesburg/strijdom-park/cescos-strijdom-park

When I picked up the boys from school at lunch time, Connor was disappointed that there was no birthday cake and candles.  One boy with one very sad face 😦     Sooo, I whipped up my choccie cake … boy with happy face 🙂   He decorated it sparingly (I suggested that we didn’t need to get too carried away with sprinkles and pretty stuff!)  and it was ready for afternoon tea ..

collages 26

p.s.   I am disappointed with the Bournville Cocoa Powder which is now pale in colour and doesn’t have that rich chocolate flavour.  I’ve previously tried the Nestlé Cocoa Powder – also quite pale and too sweet.  Woolies have small tins of Cocoa Powder, at a price, but it’s dark and chocolatie. 

Am I going to have to buy the latter from now onwards, or does anyone have any other brands I can try .. please ?

My actual birthday started with a super breakfast with my dearest friend, Sandy at Petit Four, Blackheath –   http://www.food24.com/Restaurants-and-Bars/Restaurants/Petit-Fours-20120918   Usually there are three of us together for a breakfast/lunch to celebrate a birthday, but we are two, as Marcelle has moved to the Cape 😦  she’s loving it down there but we do miss her 😦      She was definitely with us in spirit 🙂

Copy of collages 24

I was spoilt 🙂   Super prezzies (including an aromatherapy massage 🙂 lucky me,   champers and orange juice, delicious breakfast of poached egg on health bread/toast, served with cherry tomatoes and mushrooms, plus we added a kipper each!   Cappuccinos followed and a candle-topped petit four with waiters singing ‘Happy Birthday’ !   It was really special !!

The most amazing birthday prezzie was last weekend.  Yes, you read that correctly .. the whole weekend!   Hubby had organized, months beforehand,  a surprise weekend in the Drakensberg for me!   I knew that we .. hubby and I .. were going to The Cavern, Northern Drakensberg,  as he told me a few weeks ago, but what I didn’t know was that all my children, grandchildren and brother and sister-in-law, Ian and Kathy, from Somerset West in the Cape came too !!!

It was a very well kept secret .. I had absolutely no clue!!  It was a complete surprise !!!!   Even the kiddies kept the secret!!!  Connor, tho’,  was only told about the weekend once Jeanette knew he wasn’t going to see me again after Thursday afternoon – he would have surely spilled the beans!!   Jeanette has photos and story on both her blogs … her photography blog and her personal blog  

I will also share our amazing family weekend away, but in the meantime I have added a few photos to ‘whet the appetite’

Copy (3) of IMG_2105

My surprise began when I walked into the dining room for lunch and saw Ian and Kathy standing there!!!  I couldn’t believe my eyes!!   What on earth were they doing here!!!!  Lots of laughter plus tears of joy !!!

Ian and Kathy at the craft market near the Amphitheatre

Copy of IMG_2008

After lunch we were unpacking in our room when there was a knock on the door .. there stood Carl, Nicole and Erin !!!  I still had no clue that the others were following later.  Everyone is a touch tight with funds at the moment so the thought that the rest of the family would appear never occurred to me!    Elaine and Bryan appeared from behind me while we were sitting having tea in the afternoon .. and about half an hour later, Jeanette, Lance and the boys seem to appear from no-where!!!

I was overwhelmed!!!
My family  …  my children, grandchildren, brother and sister-I-L were there to celebrate with me … my 60th birthday!!  🙂
It was amazing !!!

It didn’t stop there either!!   I was presented with a huge birthday cake by The Cavern staff after Saturday night’s dinner, with the kitchen staff and waiters all singing Happy Birthday in Zulu!   It was special .. very very special !!   A moment I shall not forget.   Our table was set with flowers, pretty tablecloth, confetti and a choccie for all …

Copy of P1080519

On top of being there, Ian and Kathy gave me the most beautiful amethyst pendant necklace – my birthstone – stunning isn’t it ?  …

Copy of IMG_2172

.. and my family gave me a wide-angled lens .. whoo hoo, lucky me !!!!   .. which of course I used to capture the magnificent panoramic views  !!!   Pics below are using my new Sigma 10-20mm F3.5 EX DC …

When I captured my family walking in single file ahead of me, I was overwhelmed with love for them .. that’s MY family there !!  Hubby and I started out with just the two of us .. now we are eleven !!   Tears of joy trickled down my already sweaty cheeks 🙂 !!!  it was hot, hot, hot out there !!!

Copy of IMG_1843

We were so impressed with the children !!   Our first hike was nearly 4 hours long .. in the heat!!   Bradley kept up with us – he was amazing!!  .. the littlies went back to the hotel for a swim with Nicole three-quarters of the way through the hike

Copy of IMG_1845

Copy of IMG_1854 Copy of IMG_1860 (2)

Copy of IMG_1825

Copy of IMG_1833 Copy of IMG_1835

Copy of IMG_1839

Stunning view from our room on a misty morning …

IMG_1785 (2) Not far from The Cavern is the magnificent Amphitheatre – we stopped on the bridge over the Tugela River to take some pics  …

IMG_1968

Jeanette ‘in action’ with Connor ..

IMG_1969 (2)

IMG_1973 (2)

IMG_1976

IMG_1970

IMG_1978

IMG_1982

Making each other smile 🙂

IMG_1984

To my family ..  I thank you all, so very much, especially my hubby for organizing the surprise birthday weekend, from the bottom of my heart, for sharing such a special, awesome, wonderful weekend with me –  I am truly blessed to have you all in my life

Love you all xxx

About momsmeanderings

Wife ... mom ... granny .. in a nutshell ! Never a dull moment !
This entry was posted in birthday, cake, children, countryside, Drakensberg, grandchildren, Kwa Zulu Natal, photography, rivers and canals, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I turned 60 !!!

  1. Mrs FF says:

    60 hearty cheers, wishing you loads of happiness, good health, laughter and long life! No need to ask if you had a wonderful birthday, the pictures tell the story. You are truly blessed to have such an amazing family. I love surprises

    PS: my mum would be 60 in June too

  2. Helen Methley says:

    ♫♪♥♥[̲̅̅H̲̅][̲̅̅A̲̅][̲̅̅P̲̅][̲̅̅P̲̅][̲̅̅Y̲̅] 60th [̲̅̅B̲̅][̲̅̅I̲̅][̲̅̅R̲̅][̲̅̅T̲̅][̲̅̅H̲̅][̲̅̅D̲̅][̲̅̅A̲̅][̲̅̅Y̲̅]♥♥ Avril ♥♥ ♫♪
    H░A░P░P░Y░(¯”•.¸* *¸.•”¯) ░B░I░R░T░H░D░A░Y░ ♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ¸¸.•*¨*¸.•*¨`*ི ྀღ•♫♪
    Wishing you a fantastic day & year ahead!
    Also to AVRIL, PETER & ALL the FAMILY♫♪♥♥ So glad that you had A
    [̲̅̅H̲̅][̲̅̅A̲̅][̲̅̅P̲̅][̲̅̅P̲̅][̲̅̅Y̲̅] [̲̅̅H[̲̅̅O][̲̅̅L][̲̅̅I][̲̅̅D̲̅][̲̅̅A̲̅][̲̅̅Y̲̅]♥♥ ♥♥ at the CAVERN ♫♪
    ♥♥ƸӜƷ.•°*”˜˜”*°•.ƸӜƷ.•°*”˜˜”*°•.ƸӜƷ.•°*”˜˜”*°•. ƸӜƷ♥♥
    ♥ ░S░E░N░D░I░N░G░ ░A░N░G░E░ L░ ░ H ░ U░ G░ S░ ♥
    ♥♥ƸӜƷ.•°*”˜˜”*°•.ƸӜƷ.•°*”˜˜”*°•.ƸӜƷ.•°*”˜˜”*°•.ƸӜƷ♥♥
    With love from Helen and Nick
    -♥(●̮̮̃•̃)●̮̮̮̮̃̃•̃̃)
    —/█\/█\♥-
    —-||♥||–♥

  3. Robz says:

    Ah Ma2… i miss u sooooo much!!! LOVED LOVED LOVED reading this post 🙂
    XXX

  4. Jeanette says:

    We loved being there 🙂 glad no-one spilled the beans and you got a surprise!

  5. Such an amazing weekend and a huge surprise. Awesome for everybody to keep the secret so well.

  6. What a fantastic weekend! Happy BDay once again

Leave a Reply

