In the beginning …

I thought that would be the best place to start !!!!   We travelled to a different part of our beautiful country … new to us anyway, as ashamedly, hubby and I have never been down the Garden Route.  We’ve had children ‘forever’ and most family holidays were spent on the Kwa Natal coastal regions.  Inlanders, like ourselves, need the sea and sand between our toes regularly !!  

So off we journeyed three weeks ago, through the Free State ….

…. to Aliwal North in the Eastern Cape, our first night stopover at the Riverside Lodge on the banks of the Orange River …

Being out of season, the Lodge was fairly empty which was super, except for a very large group of Harley Davidson bikers.  When we heard them rumbling in we thought we were in for a hectic night!!  Not so .. they were an orderly, well-behaved group of ‘oldies’ like ourselves !!! 

The bikers had gone through rain.  I don’t think this biker, who we chatted to later, would have been charmed with me taking photos of his ‘dirty’ bike!  Such a small world though – we bumped into this very same chappie in Port Alfred !!! 

I know nothing about motorbikes, but this group below were in the car park when we were booking out the following morning and had smaller bikes.  They look older .. not the people … the bikes !!! 

On our way again .. towards Grahamstown, Bathurst and our next stop Port Alfred 

Eastern Cape 

About momsmeanderings

Wife ... mom ... granny .. in a nutshell ! Never a dull moment !
This entry was posted in Cape, holiday, hotels, rivers and canals, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In the beginning …

  1. Deb says:

    Avril your photos are so pretty…I love the bridge photos…looks like a nice vacation….

  2. Jenty says:

    Love the open spaces 🙂

  3. Janet says:

    Welcome back Avril! Your photos are LOVELY!

  4. Firefly says:

    I love the first photo and recognise the landscapes from a trip late last year through the Free State to your neck of the woods. I also passed through Aliwal North in December on the way to the Drakensberg, but we only stopped briefly for fuel (and a couple of pics of that same bridge)

  5. AJ says:

    Now I’m really homesick… I’ve traveled those roads… aaaah… the open spaces… believe you me… once you’ve tasted them you’ll always long for them!! Lekker ou Vrystaat!! And Eastern Cape… and Garden Route… I’m soon going to shed a tear… 😉

  6. Oh I just love that first photo.

  7. aj vosse says:

    Now I’m really homesick… I’ve traveled those roads… aaaah… the open spaces… believe you me… once you’ve tasted them you’ll always long for them!! Lekker ou Vrystaat!! And Eastern Cape… and Garden Route… I’m soon going to shed a tear… 😉

Leave a Reply

